Electrical Engineering

The Department of Electrical Engineering was one of the first departments of the National Institute of Technology. It was established in the year 1960 with Dr. Russell. W. Burns as its first Head of the Department. Lying in the heart of the institute, this department has an experienced faculty. There are ten laboratories in the department, including a computer lab & the electrical workshop. The department has a sanctioned intake of 78 students at B.Tech level. The students are admitted on the basis of entrance test conducted at the National level (AIEEE). The Department also offers M. Tech in Electrical Power & Energy Systems.
A number of students are absorbed by various organizations under Campus Recruitment Program.